Nominations Now Being Accepted for the Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Award

November 14, 2018 / 5 mins read

Nominations are now being accepted for The Euan P. McFarlane Award to recognize outstanding environmental leadership in the Insular Caribbean. The McFarlane Award was established in 1987 to provide recognition for persons demonstrating initiative, resourcefulness, and leadership in promoting conservation and enhancement of the environment in the insular Caribbean, with priority given to the smaller islands of the eastern Caribbean.

Endowment funding for the award was provided by the late Laurance S. Rockefeller, and the program was initially administered by Island Resources Foundation (from 1987-2014). The McFarlane Leadership Award is now managed by the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands (CFVI) as a part of its programming of support to youth, learning, families and the environment.

Nominees for the McFarlane Award should be persons who have applied themselves to the preservation of the natural or built environment on one or more of the small islands of the Caribbean and whose career or avocation demonstrates an appreciation of and support for the advancement of environmental stewardship and balanced development in the Caribbean.


Any resident of a Caribbean island is eligible for nomination, although priority consideration will be given to residents of the smaller eastern Caribbean islands. Any interested individual or organization familiar with the nominee may make a nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted.


Each selected McFarlane Award recipient will receive an unrestricted US$1,000 cash award.


Nominations, not to exceed three single-spaced typed pages, should state the background, accomplishments, and merits of the person nominated. The nominator must supply the names, addresses, telephone numbers and email addresses of at least 3 other persons familiar with the nominee’s work and accomplishments, who could be contacted for additional information. Attachments that support the nomination (e.g., press clippings, testimonials, letters of endorsement, etc.), not to exceed five pages, may accompany the letter but are not required and cannot be returned. Nominations are preferred as e-mails and attachments, sent to


Nominations will be reviewed by an Advisory Committee of individuals familiar with the region, and the award will be based on an assessment of how well the nominee meets the following general criteria:

· Nominee’s role in increasing public awareness about conservation issues.

· Nominee’s achievements in helping to formulate public policy that balances economic development objectives with sustainable development goals.

· Nominee’s accomplishments in strengthening public or private sector institutions and organizations concerned with conservation, preservation, or resource management issues.

· Nominee’s role in developing, promoting, or assisting programs or policies which conserve or protect key elements of the natural or built environment in the Caribbean.

· Nominee’s potential for future environmental leadership in the insular Caribbean.

Send Nominations To:

Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award
Attention: Khadija de Lagarde, Grants and Programs Manager
Post Office Box 380, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands 00804
Telephone: 340-774-6031

Nominations must be postmarked by,
or emailed, no later than

15 December 2018


Year Recipient Island Year Recipient Island
1988 Yves Renard St. Lucia 2003 Dr. Brian Cooper Antigua
1989 Mervin Williams St. Lucia 2004 Dr. Joth Singh Barbados
1990 Ronald CharlesArlington James Dominica 2005 Diana McCaulay Jamaica
1991 Alissandra Cummins Barbados 2006 Raymond Walker British Virgin Islands
1992-93 Kevel C. Lindsay Antigua 2007 Dr. I. Earle A. Kirby St. Vincent
1994-95 Jalaludin Ahmad Khan Trinidad 2008-09 Rueben J. Thompson Sint Maarten
1996-97 Reginald MurphyMaurice Widdowson AntiguaSt. Kitts 2010 Albert Hugh “Errol” Harris Dominica
1998 Andrew Simpson US Virgin Islands 2011-12 Karim Hodge Anguilla
1999 Ian Lambie Trinidad 2013 Patricia Turpin Tobago
2000 David Robinson Nevis 2014 John Mussington Barbuda
2001 Charles Chavoudiga Guadeloupe 2015 Kester Charles Grenada
2002 Jacqueline and Larry
St. Kitts 2016 Tadzio Bervoets Sint Maarten


For more than 25 years the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands has been a catalyst for positive change in the Territory through initiatives committed to youth, learning, family support and the environment. With a professional staff and a volunteer Board of Directors composed of community leaders, CFVI is a trusted advocate and supporter of programs that ensure opportunity and sustainability for current and future generations. Most recently, CFVI has been serving as a vehicle for receiving and distributing funds to support hurricane relief efforts throughout the Territory. In addition to providing administrative oversight to over 100 named funds, and programs, CFVI is focused on meeting the emergency, immediate and long-term needs of children, youth and families in the aftermath of two Category 5 hurricanes. CFVI is a registered non-profit organization entirely supported by individual donors, grants, trusts, corporate donations and estate planning.